Author Topic: Another new Ice Cube interview...  (Read 296 times)

Laconic

• Muthafuckin' Don!
  • Barracuda With It.
Another new Ice Cube interview...
« on: April 15, 2006, 12:34:08 PM »
Ganked this from ballerstatus.net...It's a good read.Ice Cube: Fool, I'm A Vet
Friday - April 14, 2006

— by Willow

Motivated by creating worthwhile artistry, but more than that awareness, Ice Cube does it again. Making a proper entrance reminiscent to the early days of his career, he releases "Why we Thugs," the first single from his upcoming album Laugh Now, Cry Later, slated to drop June 6th on his Lynch Mob Records label.

Never one to shy away from controversy and always standing firm of his independence, Ice Cube's latest television venture "Black.White" on FX has some of everyone up in arms, yet more aware about race relations than they want to be. Without bringing in the comic relief Eddie Murphy did, as Mr. White on SNL, "Black.White" is spreading around all the dirt we try to sweep under the carpet.

Sparking racial tension with "Black.White" is not the first time, Ice Cube has had to speak out about his creativity. With comments made about Rosa Parks and Martin Luther King in his blockbuster hit "Barbershop," Ice Cube has the Al Sharpton's of the "movement" raising a stink about the portrayal of Blacks in front of millions of people. In a memorable and relaxed interview, Ice Cube discusses with Ballerstatus why he's still Steady Mobbin', the joy in consistently silencing the critics and why he'll always be that "Boy from the Hood."

Ballerstatus.net: You are causing quite the stir with "Black.White," so what is your ultimate goal with this project?

Ice Cube: To get people talking about race, a series of reflection about the very fact that race relations in America is still ever present. As long as people are silent about it, there is a lack of understanding about its effect on the culture.