Author Topic: Junkyard concept, brought here  (Read 53 times)

M Dogg™

• Greatest of All Time
  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • Feel the Power of the Darkside
Junkyard concept, brought here
« on: October 10, 2007, 08:16:16 PM »
As people know I use to write the Junkyard at WC Killaz, and here at DubCNN, but of course life is busy since I graduated college, and the time for that has gone down greatly. But one concept I had was the Hip-Hop is Dead Articles, which would start with different parts of how Hip-Hop has changed from the regional block parties in New York, to going global, to coming full circle thanks to the digital age. Not sure who'd want to read it... lol. So I have decided to break up the different era's of Hip-Hop, and see what people think of how I divide up Hip-Hop through the years. This is very key to how I explain Hip-Hop's growth, and how it's going to it's current stage. So I'd like to introduce how I divide up the Hip-Hop Era's, and what not, starting with the Ol' Skool.

The Dawn of Hip-Hop
(1972?-1979)
This was the Era that Hip-Hop grew out of, everything was coming together. DJing was being perfected, rappers were spitting poetry. I wouldn't get too much into it, as so much has been paid attention in doctumentries. I might hit on it somewhat, as it is important to know where Hip-Hop has been to see where it is going.

Ol' Skool
(1979-1986)
Once Sugar Hill Gang hit the radio with Rapper's Delight it was one and poppin'. The Cold Crush got jerked, but they made up for it staring in Wild Style. Hip-Hop was not having growing pains, Hip-Hop was here. This was the Era that Hip-Hop come from the streets of New York and introduced itself to the world.

Main Playaz:
The Cold Crush Brothers
Run DMC
Grandmaster Flash and the Furious 5 with Melle Mel
Kurtis Blow
Whoodine
Busy B
The Fat Boys

The Era's best rapper (skill wise): Melle Mel
The Era's King (influence wiise): Run DMC

The Goldyn Era
(1986-1992)