Author Topic: Your favourite music genre/genres?  (Read 153 times)

Matty

Your favourite music genre/genres?
« on: February 18, 2010, 05:23:53 AM »
i'm quite interested to know what people's favourite genres of music are and if hip-hop is more a secondary genre to their main interests. for me hip-hop is secondary to my interest in funk, hence i am on a forum that focuses on west coast music - in many ways a modern day evolution of funk music. hip-hop is heavily rhythm based and coming from funk i am really drawn to the kinds of rhythms in rap music. i am also a student for 5 years of a dance style that originated from the west coast funk movement. i would expect most people on this forum to be big funk fans for obvious reasons, whether they know it or not.

i feel like people are really missing out by not getting into the genres that influence rap/hip-hop music so heavily. i guess it depends if you are inclined toward the music or the message/lyrics in rap music. the reason i'm always commenting on production etc is because the musical side is definitely my main interest. most rappers are not saying much of interest or complementing the music/rhythm very well, if truth be told.

funk seems to be a strong influence in a lot of the music i enjoy from a variety of other genres too. so if i had to list my musical preferences:

primary genre - funk

others - hip-hop, r&b/soul,  jazz, pop, electronic, classical

i enjoy some rock music too, but generally where it crosses over into funk, electronic, pop and even hip-hop territories. dance music the same, when it has strong funk influences, which quite a bit of the time it does.

anyone else?

« Last Edit: February 18, 2010, 09:23:31 AM by Matty »

tempo2

Re: Your favourite music genre/genres?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 05:33:51 AM »
+1 good post