Author Topic: Some new information on "Troublesome 21".  (Read 201 times)


  • Guest
Some new information on "Troublesome 21".
« on: October 12, 2015, 02:24:19 PM »
This was interesting...

I happened to notice this in the description of Keep Ya Head Up on DJ Daryl's YouTube page:

"Daryl L Anderson, publicly known as "DJ Daryl" produced Tupac's unreleased album titled "Troublesome 21" before he died. The album was placed on hold due to the controversy surrounding Ice T's "Cop Killer" song which glamorized killing police officers. Eventually, Interscope removed the positive songs from the album and released them.

Six out of fourteen have been released, "Keep Ya Head Up" DJ Daryl's first platinum hit single, was #2 on the Billboard Hot Rap Singles chart, #7 on the Billboard R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart and #12 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. This song was released in 1993 and is still relevant 22 years later, it appears on various albums and in films. 2Pac's Greatest Hits Album has sold over 10 million copies to date awarding DJ Daryl a Diamond Award from the Recording Industry Association of America. Special thanks to all the fans for keeping the memory of a legend alive, you are the reason Tupac will never be forgotten!"

He also talked about the album in this interview around the 16 min mark.

In summary:

1. Troublesome 21 had 14 songs.

2. 6 of which were released on Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z. and it's singles including Keep Ya Head Up and Nothing But Love.

3. The album was pushed back due to the "Cop Killer" controversy and only the positive songs stayed on the album.

4. The posthumous music he did with Tupac on R U Still Down? (Remember Me) and Loyal To The Game were recorded for Troublesome 21.

5. 6-7 songs DJ Daryl produced for Tupac are still unreleased, 2 of them are leaked. I'm assuming these are Still Don't Give A Fuck and Don't Call Me Bitch.

- - - Updated - - -

I'm on a roll with this one. lol.

I remembered the interview with Truman Jefferson (producer of Representin' 93) on this site a while ago ( ) where he talked about the album and the songs which were intended for them. From that interview and DJ Daryl's interview I think we could have an idea as to what the album actually looked like. There is a DAT on the death row inventory file that had Papa'z Song, Nothing But Love, Keep Ya Head Up, Crooked Nigga Too, What Goes On, Troublesome, and Still Don't Give A Fuck so it all adds to this.

This is what I've come up with:

Still Donít Give A Fuck
What Goes On
Crooked Nigga Too
Donít Call Me Bitch
Black Starry Night (interlude)
Soulja's Revenge
Holler If Ya Hear Me (Original Version)
Niggaz In The Pen

The 6 that carried over from Troublesome to Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z...:

Papaíz Song
Keep Ya Head Up
Nothing But Love
Representiní 93
I Wonda If Heavenís Got A Ghetto

My sequence:

Side A

1. Souljaís Revenge
2. Troublesome
3. Still Donít Give A Fuck
4. Holler If Ya Hear Me (ft. Live Squad)
5. Struggliní (ft. Live Squad)
6. Representiní 93
7. Donít Call Me Bitch

Side B

1. Keep Ya Head Up
2. I Wonda If Heavenís Got A Ghetto
3. What Goes On (ft. W.A.T.M.)
4. Crooked Nigga Too (ft. Stretch)
5. Nothing But Love
6. Papaíz Song (ft. Wycked)
7. Black Starry Night (interlude)
8. Niggaz In The Pen (ft. W.A.T.M.)

Exchange a track or two, but I think this is what the album was.

Just a few opinions;

The song Niggaz in the Pen was an unauthorized remake (1993) of the original song from Troublesome, meaning 2Pac rerecorded but didn't have permission to do so. (Below)

<a href="" target="_blank" class="new_win"></a>

Laylaw said he did around 5 songs and they were on the album (his opinion I guess), Troublesome, I Wonda if Heaven Got a Ghetto & Strictly 4 My Niggaz. When he asked why 2Pac would scrap all his tracks, 2Pac said "They" raped his album.

DJ Daryl has gone on record to say that an unreleased song was made during the same session of Keep Ya Head Up, called Blow Ya Mind.

The title is also a little dodgy from the look of written paper work & DATs etc. As far as I can tell; the album started as a sequel to 2Pacalypse (2Pacalypse II: Troublesome), many songs were basically sequels to 2Pacalypse tracks, Black Cotton-Violent, Crooked Nigga Too-Crooked Ass Nigga, When I Get Free-Soulja Story etc.
It then became it's own thing, and became just Troublesome.

After the albums tracks were scrapped, 2Pac actually changed the title to Strictly Representin' (Representin' '93s original title) before settling on Strictly 4 My NIGGAZ. The album we know was finished late 1992.

There is a promo for the album that was on MTV I believe in which 2pac says let me show you the cover, and a track. The cover is almost identical to Strictly 4 My Niggaz.
And then he plays Flex (below) @2:35