Author Topic: People 21 and over  (Read 294 times)

ACGRUNDY

People 21 and over
« on: March 12, 2004, 01:06:42 AM »
aight so I got a question for ya concerning careers and work and shit.  Well recently I graduated from college with a degree in business finance, from a pretty good school too.  Well I really wasn't into goin right into some career job, so I moved up to northern california, and I started up my own business.  Well its a moving business, where people rent their own truck and I do the labor.  I charge $40 an hour for it, so when I get jobs, I make good money.  problems is, that the work is very inconsistent, and the last 2 months have been VERY slow.  Well I'm always tryna think of things to do, and ways to make money.

while I was goin to college I never ever had a problem getting a job.  Now that I have a college degree tho, it has been the hardest time for me to find a job.  I'm trying to get a job cause I have plenty of free time, and the moving business isn't keeping me busy enuff.  Its hella weird tho now, that I have this college degree to put on my resume, which I would think would help me get a job, but its not.  I'm not getting any calls back for jobs that I apply for.  It's not even like I am getting interviews, I get nothing.  And I have a lot of job experience and great references. I think that I am overqualified for a lot of the jobs that I am applying for, and I think they would just rather hire some young dumbass that they could eazily pay minimum wage.  I dunno if its just the shitty economy right now or what, but it is really frustrating.  What do u guys do for your careers, and how do you like them?  anyone have similar problems to what I got?  anyone feeling the effects of the US economy?

Don Seer

Re:People 21 and over
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2004, 01:25:51 AM »
damn I dunno man.. have u tried an agency or something? you could do some temporary work (offices or something?) until things pick up?