Author Topic: Question on installing a Hard drive..????  (Read 89 times)

Mr.Pac-Man

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1730
  • Karma: 27
Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« on: August 02, 2002, 02:49:06 PM »
ok...i got a 30GB HD.....but i wanna get another one.....added on......my question is for yall........how can i do that......can u just by the HD set for a slave HD and thats it.......or do i have to format it and load an Operating Systems......even though im gonna keep the one i have right now??????

help yall?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
 

Jome

Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2002, 05:25:05 PM »
I had 1 HDD with 12 GB.
I then installed a new one with 40 GB in addition to the other.
The new HDD must be formatted before it can be used, but it also depends on your BIOS.
I wanted to get 120 GB, but Compaq had limited it to 40 GB.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
 

Mr.Pac-Man

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1730
  • Karma: 27
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2002, 06:22:56 PM »
so i just check for what kind it is limits and then formatt it and set it to slave......and its ready to be used also?????
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
 

Liquid-Dogg

  • Guest
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2002, 10:17:23 PM »
u gotta decide whether u want it to be the master or slave drive. u can check this by lookin on the back of the hd, then jus bang it in, doesn't matter where and enjoy. but yeah u gotta mess around with BIOS too
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
 

elneckio

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Karma: 19
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2002, 11:00:19 PM »
Upgrading drive ...

Check you have free space in case.
Check your machine has a spare IDE connection on the HDD Lead (you might need a new lead).
Install drive with slave jumper set, the other drive should be running as master already.  If youre running newer UDMA drives then the connectors will be color coded to specify the slave and master connections.
Partition the drive.
Format the drive in windows.
Use extra space to store stuff :)

Theres some guides here : http://www.pcmech.com/show/harddrive/43/

http://www.a1-electronics.co.uk/PcHardware/HardDrives/Installing_harddrive.shtml

Save me writing anymore ;)

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
"just do what he says.. i find to my expense he's always right." ... Overseer 24/04/02
 

Mr.Pac-Man

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1730
  • Karma: 27
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2002, 09:02:50 AM »
Quote
Upgrading drive ...

Check you have free space in case.
Check your machine has a spare IDE connection on the HDD Lead (you might need a new lead).
Install drive with slave jumper set, the other drive should be running as master already.  If youre running newer UDMA drives then the connectors will be color coded to specify the slave and master connections.
Partition the drive.
Format the drive in windows.
Use extra space to store stuff :)

Theres some guides here : http://www.pcmech.com/show/harddrive/43/

http://www.a1-electronics.co.uk/PcHardware/HardDrives/Installing_harddrive.shtml

Save me writing anymore ;)




^^thanks.....one question.......i have 2 IDE connectors......one right now is going to the cd rom and the other is for the HD......now which one do i connect it to......do i use the extra connector for the HD or the cd rom to plug in the new HD?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
 

elneckio

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Karma: 19
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2002, 11:15:00 AM »
Use the extra connector on the hard drive lead, plugging it into the CD-Rom channel could slow it down.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
"just do what he says.. i find to my expense he's always right." ... Overseer 24/04/02
 

Mr.Pac-Man

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1730
  • Karma: 27
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2002, 08:22:57 PM »
thanks for da info homie!!

one mo question......by any chance do u know where exactly in the bios it says up to how much of GB it can handle.....or is the limit??????
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
 

elneckio

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Karma: 19
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2002, 12:16:47 AM »
Can depend on how well your bios supports the new hard drive, some drives use fixes for older bios's (in the hard drives manual).  The real way to find out how much usable space you have is to check in windows after its formatted, because of cluster sizes etc. XXgig does not always mean XXgig, it will be a bit smaller.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
"just do what he says.. i find to my expense he's always right." ... Overseer 24/04/02
 

elneckio

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Karma: 19
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2002, 12:21:48 AM »
Almost forgot it depends on the bios you have, try standard section or the idd auto detection page.  Different manufacturers of Bios put it in different places, if you get stuck find out what motherboard you have and the website should have the manual for it as download which should cover the bios page by page.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
"just do what he says.. i find to my expense he's always right." ... Overseer 24/04/02
 

Mr.Pac-Man

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1730
  • Karma: 27
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2002, 08:24:20 AM »
thanks for da info!!  i got the manual for the motherboard ill try to see if it has it there!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
 

PakiGangsta

  • Guest
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2002, 08:28:04 AM »
I would give u the beat advice, go to www.pcpitstop.com there go in the TECH support forum, its free and they give you 100% effective solutions.

eZ
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »
 

Mr.Pac-Man

  • Muthafuckin' Don!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1730
  • Karma: 27
Re: Question on installing a Hard drive..????
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2002, 08:55:18 PM »
Quote
: . link=board=anything;num=1028335746;start=0#11 date=08/04/02 at 13:28:04]I would give u the beat advice, go to www.pcpitstop.com there go in the TECH support forum, its free and they give you 100% effective solutions.

eZ



^^thanks im gonna check that out!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by 1034398800 »