Author Topic: Benefits of Organic Produce!  (Read 123 times)

Dogg_Pound_Gangsta

Benefits of Organic Produce!
« on: January 18, 2007, 10:46:52 PM »
I think that the Health and Beauty forum would be awesome so lets flood the G-Spot with these topics!!

Anyways here are some benefits of Organic Produce.  My wife and I are vegetarians and have never felt better.  We eat veggie protein like Yves, Sneiders(sp), and tofu products.  Some people tell us that you need steak and shit but our doctors told us that is untrue.  There is a lady that we work with that had brain cancer and the first thing that the doc told her was to become a vegetarian.  We also eat alot of organic.  We buy it whenever its available.  It tastes alot better, isnt that much more as its becoming more and more popular.  I am a produce manager at a major supermarket and I've noticed that this time last year we were selling about $2000 worth of organic per week.  This year we are selling about $3500.

Benefits:

Around 350 pesticides are permitted in conventional farming and the Soil Association says an estimated 4.5billion litres of them are used annually. While there are Government rules for pesticide residues, they still end up in our food and nobody knows the long-term implications of their combined effect.

Organic farms do not release synthetic pesticides or herbicides into the environment—some of which have the potential to harm local wildlife.

Organic farms are better than conventional farms at sustaining diverse ecosystems, i.e., populations of plants and insects, as well as animals.

When calculated either per unit area or per unit of yield, organic farms use less energy and produce less waste, e.g., waste such as packaging materials for chemicals