Author Topic: Applying for jobs after college and getting job experience....  (Read 163 times)

R-Tistic

• Muthafuckin' Don!
  • DJ R-Tistic....L.A.'s Favorite
This question is definitely for those who have a B.S. in anything such as Computer Science/CIS, Engineering, or anything technical...but I'm sure that some of you could still help me out a bit.

I graduated with a B.S. in Computer Information Systems last week, and I have been searching for jobs online since I won't be able to meet with anyone or interview until I move back to L.A. Online, there are many jobs open, but most of them aren't entry level. My question is...I see that many jobs will say things such as "Three years experience with C#" or "Five years experience with Oracle Database" "Two years of C# experience necessary"...but how do you gain experience with these things if there are no entry level jobs that seem to hire you for these things? Most entry level jobs I am seeing are for computer tech work, and most of these are things that may require a B.S. or some degree, but really don't have you doing anything that relates to the courses you take in college for this major.

Another question...I passed all of my programming classes, but they were all basic intro classes, and I can only do simple things with some of the languages, if that. With some of them, I passed because of simple programs and passing tests that were based on small code tidbits and terminology, but never required any heavy coding. Therefore, would any job possibly hire me, whether it's entry level or not, and train me on these languages in order to have that experience, or would I have to study them on my own and then apply for the jobs? If I did focus on one, such as C#, and learned it to where I was an expert, would I be able to find a job using this if most job postings say "3 years experience with C#" required? That makes it sound as if you would have had to use this on a job, versus just doing it on your own.