Author Topic: PS3 vs X-Box 360 (specs)  (Read 821 times)

Don Seer

Re: PS3 vs X-Box 360 (specs)
« Reply #30 on: May 19, 2005, 03:59:59 AM »
Sony's RAM is NOT better.. they have the same speed stuff but half as much..

how is half of the same damn thing BETTER?

How do they got half as much, it's 2x256 = 512 = same amount as XBox, except that 256 of it is XDR RAM.  ??

I'm no RAM expert, but I have yet to see a article that doesn't say that XDR is not faster/better than GDDR.
You say ps3 has half as much dedicated video memory, but what's the remaining 256 for then.. ???

the other 256 is system memory..

this means programs and game data structures are kept here while the other (faster) 256 is used for graphics.

PS3 is following the model PCs use for memory management where video cards have seperate memory.
this means all video data first needs to pass from system memory to video memory
i already tried to explain that writes = bad.

with microsofts solution all memory is directly accessible by everthing
tthey made things flexible by having 512 addressable memory
the programmer then decides what he uses that memory for themselves.

i will break it down in three cases so you may understand more.

i added a speed rating for  each phase

reads from disk = slower
writes to memory = slow
reads from memory = fast   (all reads from xbox memory, reads from PS3 system memory)
reads from memory = faster (reads from PS3 video memory)

first case when a texture needed right _now_ is loaded already in video memory from disk

in both cases..

PS3 >  read from vid memory -> GPU  (faster)
XBOX >  read from dual purpose memory -> GPU (fast)

conclusion: PS3. this is purely down to the slight advantage in speed PS3 has.

_however_ microsoft has much much more space to store things here which other cases will highlight.

for small less complex, less texture rich scenes PS3 can outperform in memory speed..

AND this doesnt take into account the nvidia vs ATI battle beyond that..