Author Topic: What makes...  (Read 221 times)

Appetite

• Lil Geezy
  • i just generally, genuinely, don't give a fuck!
What makes...
« on: May 23, 2005, 12:03:07 AM »
What makes you, as a listener/consumer/etc. like the music you like?

Is it "Produced By: Dr. Dre"?

Is it "featuring (big name artist here)"?

Is it "how gangsta" something is?

Is it anything that actually deals head on with the music?

I'm just wondering, 'cause as a new artist, I find it difficult to understand why people like certain things.  I'll listen to something that everyone is saying is dope and when I'm listening I'm like "wtf?  They think THIS is dope?".  I think the industry has brainwashed a lot of people.  It's a numbers game now.  It's a "what clique is he rollin with?" thing now.  It's a "if so & so said it's dope, it's gotta be dope" thing now.  It seems it's about EVERYTHING except pushing the envelope and bringing dope music.  Correct me if I'm wrong, but personally I'm tired of seeing the same rapper's I've seen for the past 5+ years, I'm tired of seeing the same gimmicks being milked.  I'm tired of a lot of shit that involves the industry, so I'm just blowing a fuse on here, and am curious as to your peoples' thoughts.
spit that Red Bull, y'all spit decaffeinated/dope rhymes are like limbs--yours are decapitated

www.myspace.com/appetite
www.fmcmedia.com

WestCoasta

Re: What makes...
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2005, 12:24:47 AM »
pretty much I need a good instrumental to get my head bobbin and then I need the lyrics to not be wack at all, and flow with the beat
typical hardcore West Coast shit

yeah some fools be doin same shit, but I havent felt some shit in past couple years good enough to even care to like what mainstream doin

Acgrundy

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2005, 12:43:48 AM »