Author Topic: Andre 3000 Reveals Sammy Davis Jr. Biopic Details, Kiddie Songwriting Tricks  (Read 61 times)

Damien J.

• Muthafuckin' Don!
There aren't too many celebrities who you'd feel comfortable approaching in the lobby of a hotel as they try to check into their room. Then again, most celebs aren't Outkast's Andre 3000.

At the wondrous land of Comic-Con, you never know when an A-list star will walk right past you — and when the opportunity presented itself, the affable entertainer responded with a handshake, wide smile and spontaneous interview.

"It's my first time being out here at Comic-Con, and it is crazy," beamed the star, in town to promote the upcoming second season and soundtrack to his hit kiddie show, Cartoon Network's "Class of 3000". "It's inspiring. To me, it's like you can be a kid again. ... It reminds you of all the things you used to love, before you had to put on a suit and go to a corporate job. It's like dream land or fantasy land — and I dig that."

Keeping with the inner-child theme, Andre greeted thousands of costumed fans and gave them the latest scoop on his 'toon, in which he performs songs via his character Sunny Bridges. "Kids and parents started to ask, 'Where do [you] get these songs?' " he said. (Some of the fun-loving grooves have been bundled as the recently released "Class of 3000" soundtrack.) "There's 'Life Without Music,' which is a great classical piece ... 'Banana Zoo' is a favorite among people. It's a jam. It's about a gorilla who plays the drums then meets up with the kids, and they jam in the zoo."