Author Topic: Conscious Hip Hop  (Read 468 times)

KURUPTION-81

Conscious Hip Hop
« on: February 10, 2010, 11:15:10 AM »
I was chatting to a couple of mates about lil waynes new album, when one of them said something along the line of "ive got no time for wayne or snoop im on my conscious hip hop".

Now im no expert on conscious hip hop, but im interested to know what is deemed as conscious hip hop and why ? Is it merely the subject matter or the fact there not in the mainstream.

To me people like Tupac, Beanie Sigel, Joe Budden have made conscious tracks as have many more but wouldnt be deemed as a conscious rapper because of either there sales or the labels they are/were signed to.

"My greatest challenge is not what's happening at the moment, my greatest challenge was knocking Liverpool right off their fucking perch. And you can print that." Alex Ferguson

ikke

Re: Conscious Hip Hop
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2010, 11:18:24 AM »
KRS, Pre-row Pac, common & Kweli come to mind

thisoneguy360

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2010, 02:20:21 PM »
I don't think it's as much about mainstream/underground as it is content. Look at Nas, he's been in the mainstream for years but continues to make conscious tracks. Of course, underground artists are more likely to make conscious songs cause they're generally rapping about principle and not what their label is telling them to do, but some mainstream rappers can still be considered conscious. 

Blasphemy

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2010, 09:09:03 PM »