Author Topic: Building my first computer, need help  (Read 173 times)

Twentytwofifty

• Muthafuckin' Don!
Building my first computer, need help
« on: August 11, 2009, 02:38:00 PM »
I thought it might be cheaper to build my own because there are a few things you get with a normal computer that I don't need.
I never listen to CDs or play DVDs, everything I have is digital so I don't need a disc drive.  I can get a bootleg version of Windows 7 so I don't need an OS.  And I plan on hooking it up to my LCD television so I don't need a monitor.
It will be used to play media mostly and stream sports off the internet.  Won't be doing any gaming.   

So do I only need a case, processor, motherboard, RAM and video card?  Anything else?
I was looking at this case: http://www.nmediapc.com/htpc2000.htm#3
What do you think about that case?  I want something that is more flat so I can just put it on my stand below my television.

It's my first time doing this and I don't know too much.  Any other ideas?

ikke

Re: Building my first computer, need help
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 02:41:38 PM »
You're forgetting fan's, your comp can't overheat.

Suga Foot

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 02:45:16 PM »
Power supply (if the case doesn't come with one).
Sound card (if the motherboard doesn't have one, and if it does it'll probably be shitty).

Twentytwofifty

• Muthafuckin' Don!
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2009, 03:59:55 PM »
It looks like that case doesn't come with power supply.

I'm looking at this motherboard: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4803001&CatId=1572

Is there a need for a soundcard with that motherboard?  I planned on running everything through one HDMI cable.  I assume that's the best/easiest way.   

the ghost

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2009, 04:27:15 PM »
New egg . com   They will hook you up.

Chamillitary Click

• Muthafuckin' Don!
  • The greatest entertainer ever.
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2009, 04:28:47 PM »