Author Topic: Early 90’s Mel-Man leaks show foundation for Dre’s 2001 sound  (Read 358 times)

TraceOneInfinite Flat Earther 96'

• Muthafuckin' Don!
  • Permanent Resident Flat Erth 1996 Pre-Sept. 13th

I’m not a musician so I can’t describe exactly what Me-Man is doing but it’s like that hollow sound in the back of the melody or drums—it’s the same thing you hear on “Next Episode” but just with a different melody slightly but that instrument is the same on the opening track. Is it called a guitar lic? Keyboard? Drum? Sample?  But it’s a signature Mel sound.  Heck, even at the end outro of “the Hoe Shop” track you hear the same damn keys sound they used for that Michael Myers joint on 2001 “Murderer”.

Mel laid the foundation for Dre’s post Death Row launch and held it all the way thru 2003 they were still using this foundational sound.

In typical Dre fashion Dre could basically take a dope sound or dope style and then mold it into a monster hit or worldwide phenomenon
Givin' respect to 2pac September 7th-13th The Day Hip-Hop Died

(btw, Earth 🌎 is not a spinning water ball)

Okka

Re: Early 90’s Mel-Man leaks show foundation for Dre’s 2001 sound
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2022, 04:06:32 AM »
I don't hear it.

The following users thanked this post: HighEyeCue

HighEyeCue

Orbyte

« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2022, 07:25:34 AM »

I’m not a musician so I can’t describe exactly what Me-Man is doing but it’s like that hollow sound in the back of the melody or drums—it’s the same thing you hear on “Next Episode” but just with a different melody slightly but that instrument is the same on the opening track. Is it called a guitar lic? Keyboard? Drum? Sample?  But it’s a signature Mel sound.  Heck, even at the end outro of “the Hoe Shop” track you hear the same damn keys sound they used for that Michael Myers joint on 2001 “Murderer”.

Mel laid the foundation for Dre’s post Death Row launch and held it all the way thru 2003 they were still using this foundational sound.