Home Audio La Coka Nostra Return With “To Thine Own Self Be True”

La Coka Nostra Return With “To Thine Own Self Be True”


DubCNN was on the scene back in late 2005 when La Coka Nostra (ILL BILL, Slaine, Danny Boy & DJ Lethal) formed.

Down the years that followed they featured regularly with releases including “The Audacity of Coke” mixtape, “Bang Bang” featuring Snoop Dogg and many more.

Last time they featured on DubCNN was in 2009 in our exclusive interview where Danny Boy & Ill Bill gave DubCNN exclusive access backstage at Rock the Bells in San Bernandino for this behind the scenes interview. At the time, the duo discussed their debut full length album “A Brand You Can Trust”, the challenges in creating a hip-hop collective group, their fans, and their non-LCN related ventures.

Now, after a four year hiatus since La Coka Nostra released their sophomore album, Masters Of The Dark Arts, they are back – in a music industry which has changed considerably in that time. The group have always been known for tackling controversial topic matter, and the group’s new album, “To Thine Own Self Be True,” finds them once again in torch-bearing mode. ILL Bill explains;

“This album was created during a time of unique and individual transformation for each member of the group. Speaking for myself, it’s been a heavy last couple of years. It’s definitely the most personal record we’ve made under the La Coka banner and while we’re still making music that’s hard as fuck, there’s a maturity to this latest batch of songs that makes it different from a lot of the older stuff. I notice the biggest reactions come from the songs our listeners can personally relate to and we needed to make a record like this right now, not only for the fans, but for ourselves. I got alot off my chest on this one. Making music can be extremely therapeutic and making To Thine Own Self Be True was a rebirth and a re-ignition for me.”

Slaine had a similar take on the projects therapeutic output;

“You don’t put as many years in the game as we have without having ups and downs. We all have gone through struggle and adversity—personally and professionally. This album was recorded as I walked out of a very dark time toward a place of truth and understanding. Music has been how I feed my family, my plane ticket around the world and a place I’ve built real friendships; but at the very core it’s a tool I use to get through life. This album is a moment in time. It is visceral and real.”

While DJ Lethal continues to oversee the production end of To Thine Own Self Be True, the group also enlisted Statik Selektah, Marco Polo, Salam Wreck (D-12, Obie Trice, Proof, B-Real, Tha Dogg Pound) & ChumZilla (from the Demigodz) and get vocal contributions from extended family members such as Vinnie Paz, Apathy, Q-Unique, Sick Jacken, Skam2 & Rite Hook.

The members of La Coka Nostra have collectively been delivering quality hardcore Hip-Hop music for 25-years now and with To Thine Own Self Be True they return re-invigorated and on the cusp of setting off for a world tour. “To Thine Own Self Be True; The battle-cry for La Coka Nostra from here on out” Danny Boy lamented. “It’s only onward and upward from here.”

La Coka Nostra’s To Thine Own Self Be True will impact on 11-4-2016 and be released by Fat Beats Records. Peep the single “Stay True” (produced by Statik Selektah) below along with the album tracklist.

La Coka Nostra – “Stay True” (Produced by Statik Selektah) Audio

Tracklisting and credits for La Coka Nostra’s To Thine Own Self Be True:

1.) “Dark Day Road” (produced by J57)
2.) “I Need Help” f/ Sick Jacken (produced by Leaf Dog)
3.) “Waging War” f/ Rite Hook (produced by The Arcitype)
4.) “Murdered Tonight” (produced by DJ Lethal)
5.) “Stay True” (produced by Statik Selektah)
6.) “Blind” f/ Q-Unique & Sadie Vada (produced by Marco Polo)
7.) “Crispy Innovators” f/ Vinnie Paz (produced by Vherbal)
8.) “Archie Bunker” f/ Nems (produced by DJ Lethal)
9.) “High Times” ft/ Sick Jacken (produced by Salam Wreck)
10.) “America” f/ Apathy (produced by DJ Lethal)
11.) “Now Or Never” f/ Skam2? & Rite Hook (produced by DJ Lethal)
12.) “To Thine Own Self Be True” f/ Rite Hook (produced by ChumZilla)


Previous articleQuiz “Need In Ya Life” (Feat. Damani Nkosi & Ghrimm)
Next articleDrag-On “Vibe With Me” (Official Video)
Owner, Founder, CEO of DubCNN.com. A passion for Westcoast Hip-hop as a fan, has led to over two decades of driving the scene under DubCNN, breaking talent, supporting vets and bringing fans and artists together.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here