Home News Blu’s Lost Classic “NoYork” Gets Deluxe CD + Vinyl Release Date

Blu’s Lost Classic “NoYork” Gets Deluxe CD + Vinyl Release Date


Today we can confirm that L.A. emcee Blu has announced the official release date for his “lost” LP NoYork!

The project, which was set to be released as his Sire/Warner Brothers debut album, will now be released in physical format on March 26th 2013.

The oft-delayed masterpiece has been the talk of the internet for years, but has never seen a proper retail release – depsite being thrown out for free at Rock The Bells in 2011 and available to buy for a limited time on UGHH.

The album – which features U-God of Wu-Tang Clan, Pac Div, UNI, J*Davey, Tiron, Ayomari and more – will be released in deluxe CD and vinyl editions and available in stores everywhere on March 26th, 2013.

The CD release will include a 12-page booklet plus an exclusive poster, and the vinyl comes in a limited-edition four-LP set with three non-CD bonus tracks (see below). All pre-orders include instant free download.

While Blu has turned in a number of critically acclaimed projects lately, NoYork (also known as York) is his most ambitious project to date. Applying timeless vocals over detailed, textured instrumentals, Blu seems to have placed himself at the forefront of a new genre, melding classic hip-hop lyricism with the experimentation of the L.A. beat scene. With contributions from beat icons like Flying Lotus, Exile, Shafiq Husayn of Sa Ra, Daedalus, Dibia$e, and Samiyam, the album boasts a unique sonic backdrop that sets it apart from his previous work. As Blu explains: “It’s not a state, it’s a state of mind.”

Blu – NoYork (Tracklist)

01) Doin Nothin (Feat. U-God) (Produced by Flying Lotus)
02) Everything’s OK (Feat. Jack Davey) (Produced by Flying Lotus)
03) Everybody Nose (Feat. Sa Ra & Nola Darling) (Produced by Samiyam)
04) Above Crenshaw (Feat. Cashus King)
05) SLNGBNGrs (Produced by Dibia$e)
06) Soupa (Feat. Suzi Analogue) (Produced by Samiyam)
07) Hours (Produced by Daedelus)
08) Annie Hall (Feat. Chop, Brooker T, & Tiombe Lockhart) (Produced by Daedelus)
09) Tags (Feat. Exile) (Produced byExile)
10) Spring Winter Summer Fall (Feat. Jimetta Rose) (Produced by Shafiq Husayn)
11) Down To Earth (Produced by Shafiq Husayn)
12) My Sunshine (Feat. Nia Andrews) (Produced by Shafiq Husayn)
13) Jazmine (Feat. Andy Allo) (Produced by Samiyam) (Vinyl-Only Bonus)
14) Jazzmen (Produced by Madlib) (Vinyl-Only Bonus)
15) Ronald Morgan (Feat. Edan) (Produced by Madlib) (Vinyl-Only Bonus)
16) Keep Pushinn (Produced by Knxwledge)
17) Doin Somethin (Feat. Pac Div, UNI, J*Davey, Tiron, & Ayomari) (Produced by Flying Lotus) [Listen]


Last year Blu worked alongside Exile to release their new album “Give Me My Flowers While I Can Still Smell Them” on iTunes via Dirty Science / Fat Beats as well as dropping the single Jesus and the accompanying music video, and his “Lemonade”  record.

Head over to NatureSounds now to Pre-Order NoYork!

Previous articleDubb Drops “Game & Hustle” With Jay305 + “Black Box EP” Release Date
Next articleT.I. “Memories Back Then” With Kendrick Lamar, B.O.B. & Kris Stephens CDQ
Owner, Founder, CEO of DubCNN.com. A passion for Westcoast Hip-hop as a fan, has led to over two decades of driving the scene under DubCNN, breaking talent, supporting vets and bringing fans and artists together.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here