Home Audio Official DJ Quik “The Midnight Life” Press Release

Official DJ Quik “The Midnight Life” Press Release


Yesterday DubCNN.com brought you the world exclusive news that DJ Quik will release a new album on October 14th!

Our update confirmed “The Midnight Life” will drop on 14/10/2014 and we delivered the cover, tracklist and sampler.

Today we can bring you the full press release, more detailed tracklist as well as the iTunes pre-order link!

The album – which features appearances from Tay F 3rd, David Blake II, El DeBarge, Bishop Lamont, Suga Free, Dom Kennedy, Mack 10, Rob “Fonksta” BaconTweed Cadillac and Joi – is his first LP in over 3 years, since 2011’s The Book of David.

Read the press release;

(Los Angeles, CA) Multi-platinum rap star DJ Quik is slated to release The Midnight Life, his ninth studio album, October 14 via his Mad Science label in conjunction with INgrooves Music Group. The Compton, California legendary rapper-producer says the collection reflects his favorite music-making environment. “This album is my ode to having fun in the midnight hour,” Quik says of his new LP. “That’s the best time for making music in my opinion. It’s quiet, especially if you’re in a recording studio. You can hear everything and you know everybody’s asleep. You can sneak and do your best work.”

The iTunes pre-order link of the album is out today, September 16. Once fans purchase they will instantly get the first released track from the album, “That Getter” featuring Quik’s son David Blake. The 2nd iTunes “instagrat track” will be “Pet Sematary” out September 30. See below for album artwork with a full 16-song track list.

Quik’s main single “Life Jacket” is likely to be a fan favorite and features longtime collaborator Suga Free and revered California rapper Dom Kennedy. He showcases his sly sense of humor on “Fuck All Night” and flexes his tremendous musicality on “Quik’s Groove 9” and “Bacon’s Groove.” El Debarge, Bishop Lamont, Mack 10, Tay F 3rd and Tweed Cadillac round out the rest of the albums features and it all adds up being a stellar lyrical and musical journey.

“Musically, this album is a bulls-eye for me,” Quik says. “Can’t nobody tell me different because I’ve seen it give people chills. I’ve seen it make people happy, smile, drink, party, dance, ask for it on repeat. This album is for people who like to have fun.”


The full tracklisting for The Midnight Life can be seen below with the double covers (front and back)

01) Intro
02) That N****r’s Crazy (D. Blake)
03) Back That Shit Up feat. Tay F 3rd & David Blake II (D. Blake, D. Kim, D. Blake II)
04) Trapped On The Tracks feat. Bishop Lamont & David Blake II (D. Blake, P. Martin, D. Blake II)
05) El’s Interlude 2 (D. Blake, E. Debarge)
06) Puffin The Dragon (D. Blake)
07) Pet Sematary (D. Blake)
08) Life Jacket feat. Suga Free & Dom Kennedy (D. Blake, D. Walker, D. Hunn)
09) That Getter feat. David Blake (D. Blake, D. Blake II)
10) The Conduct feat. Mack 10 (D. Blake, D. Rolison)
11) Shine feat. David Blake (D. Blake, D. Blake II)
12) Bacon’s Groove feat. Rob “Fonksta” Bacon (D. Blake, R. Bacon, Jr.)
13) Broken Down feat. Suga Free & Tweed Cadillac (D. Blake, D. Walker, C. Brown)
14) Why’d You Have To Lie feat. Joi (D. Blake, J. Gilliam)
15) F**k All Night (D. Blake)
16) Quik’s Groove 9 (D. Blake)

You can now pre-order on iTunes 7digital and Spotify but first enjoy the sampler of tracks below with the full tracklist and cover! Drop your comments and spread the word!


DJ Quik – The Midnight Life (Sampler)


Previous articleHittman Opens Up About Dr. Dre On Track With The Asoka & Chris Lightfoot
Next articleNina Macc Is “2 G Wit It” (Audio)
Owner, Founder, CEO of DubCNN.com. A passion for Westcoast Hip-hop as a fan, has led to over two decades of driving the scene under DubCNN, breaking talent, supporting vets and bringing fans and artists together.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here